What is your name and age?12788525_1271487126201182_207852401_o
My name is Laszlo Barcsik and I am 28 years old.

What are you working with/as?
I run a gym in my hometown, Kecskemét which is specialized for Kettlebell.
I am the coach there, as well as the president of the Kettlebell Sport Club of Kecskemét.

Do you have a motto or any catchwords?
Set a goal, and do everything in your power to achieve it.

When did you start kettlebell training?
I started with RKC in 2009 and joined Kettlebell Sport 2013.

Why and how did you start? Maybe more interesting, why did you continue doing it?
I had an accident with my motorbike, and unfortunately as a result I had a broken hip, and for a long time I could only walk with clutches. During the recovery process I started using the bells, as it was strengthening my core muscles, and helped me great deal to recover completely.
So I continued working out with the bells in the RKC system. Later on I have found it too limited and I was looking for new opportunities to develop myself. This is how I have found the original Russian kettlebell sport.

It was a big change as the technique and the bases are completely different, but I fell in love with it immediately.

When did you start being a coach? Why did you do it?
Before my accident I was actually a judo athlete and I was coaching young kids already for many years.
So I always had the ambition to train and develop other people as well. After finishing my RKC Kettlebell degree, I almost immediately started coaching, which was at the end of 2009.

What kind of education do you have in coaching?
As I mentioned, I started with the RKC degree, after that I made the SFG diploma as well. When I switched to Kettlebell Sport, I also completed the KetAcademy course with Sergei Merkulin.
Besides I was studying at University of Physical Education of Szeged which gave me a great knowledge.

And as a next step, I have invited Denis Vasilev for this April, who is not only going to hold his seminar at my gym, but will also give me a chance to complete Instuctor level 2.

As a coach, what is important to be like in order to get the best results from your athletes?
It is a very difficult thing to say, as each and every athlete is having different goals. And also having different skills and coming from different backgrounds. I have to learn how to have an individual approach to my athletes, so I can motivate them the best way.

What do you think are the most important personal qualities in an athlet?12498645_1271487122867849_1528704814_n
Naturally, the most important thing is strong will and stamina. With that, you can improve all your other qualities.
Also it is important to know your own limits and what you are capable of, so you can set realistic goals not only in sport, but in life in general.

What is the most challenging thing being a coach?
The most challenging for me is to bring the maximum results from my athletes, who are willing to compete and aiming to have great results in this sport. It is the most interesting thing for me to find the best way to develop my athlete, without losing enthusiasm and also avoid injuries.

What are your own strengths as a coach?
I have strong personality, and also great patience to handle all kinds of athletes.
I take all time needed to find the right way to train my athletes and maintain also their emotional wellbeing as well.

What do you feel about single/double bells for women? What do you prefer as a coach?
In my opinion it is most definitely better to start training with one bell. At the beginning two bells can be seem intimidating for the ladies. After a few months, you can figure out whether your lady athlete is capable of training with two bells.

By the way, I prefer snatch rather than LC. I believe doing snatch suits well each body type, when LC can be challenging for women with different body features.

How do you think the future will look like for the sport (GS)?12736217_1271487229534505_2094308158_n
As I can see, the whole GS institution is growing fast, there are more and more countries joining. We are still a little bit behind the Russians, but I believe that in the future it will be more even.

How do you think it will be for you or your athletes?
Being part of the GS organisation gave me the opportunity to be Master of Sports, and I am hoping that soon I will be MSIC as well. We are also working hard with my athletes to be able to bring home more medals and giving them the opportunity to participate in more and more competitions.

Have you entered any competitions? Do you want to share your results?
Of course, I am trying to participate in as many competitions as possible.
My best results are the following:

  • 2015, European Championshipm Varna: Biathlon 32kg, III place in -73kg. Results: 128 (71+114)
  • 2015, World Championship Dublin: Biathlon 32kg, III. place in -73kg. Results:138 (77+122)

What/which are or were your personal goals in training? (long-term/short-term?)12782541_1271487116201183_450968444_n
Well, sky is the limits. My long term goal is MSIC in Biathlon. My short term goal is to achieve more than 90 jerks with 32 kg bells.

What/which are your goals for your athletes? (long-term/short-term?)
I would really like if one of my athletes would achieve Master of Sports, and it always makes me proud if there are more and more athletes are competing in the European or World Championships.

My athletes are usually taking me seriously, usually I don’t even have to raise my voice. J

Do you have any training tips to share?
I recommend to everyone in this sport to do some kind of workout every day, even if its not kettlebell.
It doesn’t have to be hard, it is enough to give full energy on your sets.
Like that, you will enjoy doing sport, and will develop fast.

Do you have any funny anecdotes from competition or training that you would like to share?
My first competition ever abroad was in a small town near London, it was a WKC organisation. I went there with my sister and my friend, who were supporting me there.
The competition was really tiring and it took almost all my energies. I felt like I was a complete failure, as the competition was very strong.

We almost left before the medal ceremony, but my friends encouraged me to stay. It turned out that I had the 3rd place which I could not even believe, I was just standing there, completely thunderstruck, and did not understand what was going on. I was sure it was a mistake, so I went to the organizer and asked her to doublecheck my results.
It turned out that indeed I had the 3rd place, which I was very happy about.

Who (or what) inspires you?
In Kettlebell, 3 person:

  • Igor Spoljaric (he was my first trainer, until very recently. He helped me great deal, I achieved 3rd place in both European and World Championships. He is a great man, who gives his full heart to this sport)
  • Gregor Sobocan (whenever we have a competition in our region, we are always ending up next to each other on the platform. He is the best in this region and I enjoy very much competing next to him, he always inspire me to do more – we are not in the same weight category.)
  • Ivan Denisov (he is my new coach. He is the absolute best in this sport, it’s very inspiring, knowing what results he has achieved, and giving me the opportunity of stepping on the same path)

Which exercise is your favourite?12736215_1271487119534516_1906636237_n
Biathlon with 32 kg of course 🙂

Have you got any exercises that you hate doing, or that your athletes hates doing? Which one and why is that?
I am not a huge fan of running, and I also don’t enjoy so much the excercises for my grip.

Grip excercises are always coming after snatch sets, where my forearm is already killed, so you can image how hard it is. After a hard snatch set I feel like a 5 YO have stronger grip. 🙂

Is there ever anything that makes you not prioritate trainingday?
NO 🙂 Nothing comes before my trainings.

How do you eat? Do you have a special diet or a food-philosophy?
Since I have two training every weekday, I actually try to eat a lot, so I will have the energy. I am using an app to calculate how many Kcal I am taking, as I need at least ~3000 a day.

What is your favourite thing to do when you’re not ”kettlebelling” or coaching?
I am playing guitar, I have a blues band. Music is the best way for me to relax.

Click here  to watch Barcsik competing at IUKL WC 2015 (snatch) in Dublin and here from IUKL Kettlebell Sport Hungarian Open 2015.

We thank Barcsik alot for taking his time to participate and letting us publish his portrait to share with you all. He has got a lot of talent and is a technically good lifter. And for sure a wonderful roalmodel for GS in Hungary. We wish him the best of luck in the future!!

Translate »